SPEEDWAY – GP Stars Join Season Opener

Words: Hayley Bromley Images: Ian Charles

THE star-studded field for the 2023 Peter Craven Memorial is almost complete with the addition of world championship contenders Dan Bewley and Jason Doyle. 

Only three spots remain to fill for Belle Vue’s flagship event on March 20 at the National Speedway Stadium and supporters are loving what they’ve seen so far.

Current ATPI Aces Brady Kurtz, Tom Brennan, Charles Wright, Norick Blodorn and Jaimon Lidsey will all feature in this year’s line-up together with other world class stars.

Premiership champions Matej Zagar and Max Fricke also return to their old stomping ground with Freddie Lindgren, Tobiasz Musielak, Michael Palm Toft and Krzysztof Kasprzak.

Dan Bewley was warmly welcomed back into the Aces fold after spending a season away from UK racing and will spearhead the club’s efforts to retain their league championship in 2023.

And his fellow Grand Prix star Jason Doyle will no doubt be amongst favourites for victory in the Peter Craven Memorial after he made history with three consecutive wins in the event from 2018-2020.

Belle Vue CEO Mark Lemon said: “Every year we strive to attract a high calibre of rider to the Peter Craven Memorial and every year we are always met with great enthusiasm to take part.

“Dan is someone who is happiest when he’s on two wheels, regardless of the discipline, and not only is he the British Champion and a double Grand Prix victor but he is also a past winner of this meeting.

“I’ve no doubt he’ll be targeting his second Peter Craven win this year and with his affinity for the National Speedway Stadium he’ll be up there as a firm favourite.

“Jason is a rider whom I have worked with extensively over the years and though he has never ridden for Belle Vue, he made club history with the Peter Craven Memorial after his triple win.

“It has been done before, by club legend Chris Morton, but never consecutively and, he has the chance to make history again in 2023 if he walks away with his fourth win.

“We’ve got three riders left to announce, all of whom we’re very excited about, and I feel the fans will be very happy with the final line-up.”

The 28th staging of the Peter Craven Memorial takes place Monday, March 20th at 7:30pm. Meeting tickets are now available to purchase online at bellevue-speedway.com.


LINE-UP: Matej Zagar, Max Fricke, Freddie Lindgren, Tobiasz Musielak, Michael Palm Toft, Krzysztof Kasprzak, Brady Kurtz, Tom Brennan, Charles Wright, Norick Blodorn, Jaimon Lidsey, Dan Bewley, Jason Doyle, RIDER TBC, RIDER TBC, RIDER TBC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *