Changes on Mossley Town Council – but familiar faces stay

NEW faces have joined a history-making returning favourite after the people of Mossley voted on its own Town Council.

Two of the three wards – Cheshire and Lancashire – went to the polls while Yorkshire was uncontested with only two candidates occupying the seats.

And the meeting on Wednesday, May 10 saw some changes in its make up.

But independent Dean Aylett will start his 17th year on his home town’s authority after being returned once more in the Cheshire ward.

Cllr Stephen Homer and Frank Travis with newly elected Hamza Aslam

In his election statement to The Correspondent, he promised to: “Support the rich group of volunteers who work tirelessly in running community groups and events that helps to mitigate anti-social behaviour.

“I will be encouraging the police to engage and share real time information from other Government agencies while also encouraging them to engage in community discussions and forums to help to reduce crime levels further.

“I will also continue in my quest to plant thousands of trees in Mossley.

“This will be achieved by the continuation of my scheme of offering every Mossley school child an opportunity to plant a tree.

“By planting trees, we can help to reduce our carbon footprint while providing habitats to support wildlife. This also softens the landscape and reduces flood risks.

“Mossley would now benefit from a permanent cleaning team and now is the time to look at the books and stats to address this.

Borough Councillors for Mossley Ward elected

“And by forming a local central reporting point with easy access to all residents, it would be possible to share information with the local authority, enabling us to work with them in identifying and rectifying the poor condition of our roads and pavements.”

Borough councillor Stephen Homer will also continue on Mossley Town Council after he was elected in Lancashire ward.

However, he will be joined by Hamza Aslam after he polled 403 votes to get in in Cheshire, a result that was greeted with jubilant scenes at the count.

Amelia Bayliss and Sally Davies will also take their place after securing seats in Lancashire, while Mary Mitchell is one of those representing the Yorkshire area.

Changes see Jack Homer, James Hall, Ruth Kerfoot and Helen Jamison step down after they did not seek re-election.

But chairman Frank Travis, Pat Mullin and Idu Miah will be back on the panel, which plays a key role in Mossley life.

Now the hard work starts as a local plan is being formulated while contentious plans to build houses on land in the town will not go away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *