Epic battle at Ashton for Hobson Jubilee Trophy

DENNIS Howarth and Eddie Sidebottom lifted the Hobson Jubilee Trophy at Ashton following an epic battle in the golf major.

Only one point separated the leading five pairings in the four-ball betterball Stableford with Dennis and Eddie triumphing with 46 points on the card from runners-up Mark Wilson and Steve Bradley, Simon Heeley and Mick McCarthy.

Fourth were John Hipkin and Don Lawton (45) on the card from James Kennedy and Glyn Andrew.

Ashton Golf Club

Colin Quinlan picked up silverware following his victory in the 36-hole Lady Aitken Cup, a par competition.

He was four up against the course (one in the opening round and three in the second) to edge out David McLaughlin by one hole.

In the first round, David was two up while Colin, James Kennedy, Glyn Andrew and Sean Gregg were all one up.

Colin was three up in the second round, David one up while Glyn, Andrew Jameson and Darren Sharkey were all level par.

Roy Penning won the Baker Centenary Trophy after scoring a remarkable 84-26-58 in the opening round of the 36-hole medal.

His handicap was slashed by four shots for the second round, in which he returned 88-22-66 for third place.

In the opening round, Roy finished two shots clear of James Gregory (89-29-60) and Michael Bird (89-29-60).

Mark Hatton (79-16-63) was clear winner of the second round from Craig McCannon (80-14-66) and Roy.

Martin Hudson amassed 49 points in a Stableford to take home the Colin Boyle Memorial Trophy, a three division event.

Ian Brooks headed division one with 42 points from John Dawber and Shaun Nolan, both 40.

Martin claimed top spot in the second division from Anthony Phillips (41) and Ian Sherlock (39).

And in division three, Corey Reece-Pinchin (43) won from Karen Sherlock (39), Tracey Ralphs and Bob Monte (both 37).

Ian Rhodes and Eamonn O’Donnell teamed up to win the Commemorative Cup with a nett 61.

Second were Roger Lomas and Martin Easthope (62) on the card from Don Lawton and Glyn Taylor.

The monthly medal produced a win for Josh Beresford (72-5-67) in division one from Joe Lawton (77-8-69) and Simon Baxendale (78-8-70).

Mark Bradshaw (81-14-67) headed division two from Andy Clegg (80-12-68) and Mike Scowcroft (84-15-69).

Manus O’Donnell (93-29-64) topped division three from Roy Baker (82-17-65) and Wayne Fitzpatrick (86-17-69).


Anna Lomas had a decisive six shot margin of victory in the Hall Cup, a 36-hole major.

She had rounds of 81-10-71 and 84-10-74 for a two-round total of 145, well clear of runner-up Lynne Wood who had 96-19-77 and 93-19-74 for 151.

Anna Lomas

Anna had the best score in the opening round from Julia Wild (95-23-72), Jane Littlewood (87-12-75), Susan Barlow (81-6-75) and Lynne.

Lynne took top spot in the second round from Anna, Sylvia Haq (98-23-75), Elaine Roberts (101-26-75) and Amy McGee (92-17-75).

Sylvia Haq and Kay Patrick formed a winning team to win the Coronation Foursomes with 39 points in the Stableford.

Runners-up were Anna Lomas and Joanne Edwards (37) while third place went to Julia Wild and Carol Aiken (34).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *