No start date for Stalybridge Snooker League

THE Stalybridge Snooker League still has no start date for its 2020-21 season due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

The 2019-20 season was cut short due to coronavirus which meant the presentation night was unable to take place.

Denton Conservative Club with whist runners-up trophy

And there was a different format for the league’s annual meeting which had to take place remotely on the Zoom platform.

Chairman Phil Vidler has resigned after many years in office and the league thanked him for all his efforts on their behalf.

Phil was also acting treasurer for the league and he has been replaced by Chris Edwards as chairman and by Mark Neale as treasurer. Ian Hopton is continuing as league secretary and press secretary.

The changes saw a reduction in league fees for the coming year and, regrettably, Mossley A have left the league – hopefully they will be back soon.

The annual meeting set out how the league will run when its eventually restarts , but unfortunately they have no date yet due to the latest Covid restrictions on clubs and their hours of opening.

Hyde Conservative Club captain Mark Neale with the trophies they won

Trophies had to be delivered to each individual team venue instead of having a presentation night.

Hyde Conservative Club were again crowned snooker champions as well as winning the George Fletcher Trophy. The highest break and most man-of-the-match awards went to Dan Tipping.

Mossley B won the whist league while Chris Edwards retained the billiards highest break trophy. Ian Carter was runner up in the darts league.

St Peter’s, Stalybridge, were second in the snooker league and won the Gordon Clay Trophy. Alex Tate captured the players’ league.

The league’s two new teams were also successful as Denton Conservative Club were second in the whist league while Phil Stamp won the darts league.

Hyde Club’s Steve Ogden won the sportsmanship award which was voted for by each individual team.

If anyone needs any information about the league, go to or email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *