Fifth term for MP Andrew Gwynne despite slashed majority

IT was a bitter-sweet night for Andrew Gwynne who was re-elected MP for Denton and Reddish.

Mr Gwynne begins his fifth term of office with a vastly reduced majority of 6,173 and down from 14,077 in 2017.

The 45-year-old, first elected in 2005, survived as Labour went into meltdown nationally as the Conservatives posted a landslide victory.

Mr Gwynne, shadow communities and local government secretary in the last parliament, added lessons must be learned from the defeat.

He said: “It was a very tough night for the Labour Party and I lost a lot of good colleagues.

“The people have spoken and we have a duty to listen to what they say.

“It is an opportunity to dust ourselves down, rebuild our party and come back fighting for the next election.”

Mr Gwynne admitted to knowing it was going to be a challenging election for Labour.

He explained: “I could tell in my own constituency from my conversations with voters in my Denton and Reddish constituency how difficult it would be across other parts of the country.

“They felt the Labour Party had stopped speaking for them so I had always braced myself for a difficult election in 2019.

“We have to learn from it and understand why people no longer trust the Labour Party this time when they had supported them in previous elections.”

Mr Gwynne described being “grateful” to constituents in Audenshaw, Denton, Dukinfield, Reddish and the Heatons for “once again placing faith and trust in me”.

“My seat was no different to Heywood and Middleton and Leigh which fell elsewhere to the Conservative surge,” he said.

Mr Gwynne added he wants the new Government to heal division and to bring the country together while rebuilding it.

“We have a duty to stand firm and form a credible opposition in the next Parliament and ensure we stay strong for the many and not the few,” he concluded.

Denton and Reddish results

  • Iain Bott – Conservative – 13,142
  • Farmin Lord F’Tang F’Tang Dave – Monster Raving Loony Party – 324
  • Andrew Gwynne – Labour – 19,317
  • Dominic Hardwick – Liberal Democrat – 1,642
  • Gary Lawson – Green – 1,124
  • Martin Power – The Brexit Party – 3,039

Turnout: 58.42%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *