Band contests are back

DENTON Cricket Club hosts one of the 11 Whit Friday brass band contests on June 14.

It takes place at Denton Cricket Club, Egerton Street, between 4.15pm and 11.15pm.

Denton has a £1,260 prize fund, with £250 going to the winning band. The adjudicator will be Mike Lyons.

For those intending to visit other band contests, here are the details for the Tameside events.

Ashton-Under-Lyne R F C
St Albans Avenue, Gambrel Bank,
Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 8TU
4.30pm – 11pm

Carr Rise, Carrbrook,
Stalybridge SK15 3NY
4pm – 10.30pm

Denton Cricket Club, Egerton Street,
Denton M34 3PB
4.15pm – 11.15pm

The Bush Inn, Moorside Street,
Droylsden M43 7HL
4pm – 11pm

Dukinfield Tame Valley
Tame Valley Hotel, Park Road,
Dukinfield SK16 5LX
4.15pm -11pm

Dukinfield The Albion
The Albion, 66 Jeffreys Drive,
Dukinfield SK16 4BZ
4pm – 11pm

John Street, Wakefield Road,
Heyrod, Stalybridge SK15 3BW
4.30pm – 11pm

Hurst Village
Ashton United FC, Surrey Street,
Hurst Cross, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 9EQ
4.30pm – 10.15pm

Stalybridge Celtic
Stalybridge Celtic Football Club,
Bower Fold, Mottram Road,
Stalybridge SK15 2RT
4.30pm – 11pm

The New Stalybridge Labour Club
The New Stalybridge Labour Club,
Acres Lane, Stalybridge SK15 2JR
4.30pm – 11pm

Upper Mossley *
Mossley AFC, Seel Park,
Market Street,
Mossley OL5 0ES
4.30pm – 10pm
* Please note the Upper Mossley contest is no longer held at St Joseph’s School Yard.

Entry for the Tameside Overall element of the Whit Friday Brass Band Contest is automatic for all bands that compete at six or more of the Tameside contests.

What constitutes a local band differs at each contest. However, the Tameside local prizes can only be allocated to a band which resides (has a band room or primary practise space) within six miles radius of Ashton Town Hall steps. This was ratified by The Friends of Tameside Whit Friday Brass Band Contest Committee in 2013 and again in 2018. Bands can only win a single prize.

In the event a band placed first in two separate categories (for example 1st section and local) they will receive the highest value monetary prize. The lower value prize will go to the next highest scoring band in the relevant category.

Overall prizes for 2019

Open 1st £2,000
Open 2nd £1,000
Open 3rd £750
Local 1st £750
Local 2nd £600
Local 3rd £400
Youth 1st £200
Youth 2nd £100
Overall 1st Section £500
Overall 2nd Section £400
Overall 3rd Section £350
Overall 4th Section £300
Total Prize Money £7,350

Prize Money

Contest Adjudicator Main Prize Total Prizes
Broadoak Duncan Beckley £500 £1,600
Carrbrook John Davis £600 £1,555
Denton Mike Lyons £250 £1,260
Droylsden The Bush Ryan Breen £400 £1,550
Dukinfield The Albion Nigel Lawless £350 £1,625
Dukinfield Tame Valley Ben Richton £400 £1,800
Heyrod Martin Heartfield £600 £2,080
Hurst Village Ashton Utd FC Richie Howard £300 £1,275
Stalybridge Celtic Chris Evan £400 £1,525
The New Stalybridge Labour Club Maj P Norley £400 £1,425
Mossley Gary Hallas £750 £2,180

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *